top of page

New book announcement: Nibowin: The Island of Death




I’m proud to announce my new book “Nibowin: The Island of Death.” It is a supernatural-thriller novella that takes place on an island, Nibowin. A group of university graduates is taken on vacation by Nate Dawn, whose family is very rich. Nate flies the group to the island, owned by the family and located in the North Pacific Ocean. Before the group can fully experience the wonders of the island, creatures emerge from the shadows and start hunting them down one by one.


I started writing this story in 2019, but I greatly procrastinated. I ended up focusing more on the Armored Piercing books. The serious work on Nibowin began late last year. The book was quite difficult to write because I had so many different ideas for the third act.


I’ve also done more research on native cultures this time around. The word “nibowin” means death in Ojibwe, which fitted in well as a title for the book. Members of the T’lok, a tribe I created for the book, have names that are also Ojibwe. Additionally, I looked up Inuit names and looked a bit into Inuit culture. For example, there’s a creature in Inuit mythology known as the Ijiraq. This is a creature that shapeshifts and hunts lonely prey, another great source of inspiration for the book.


This time around, I’ve elected to use the Amazon cover creator, as I did with “The Invasion of Planet Earth.” I did create a PosterMyWall cover, but the picture of the island I found on Amazon better suited the tone for Nibowin. You can check the other cover below and let me know what you think.





Speaking of Amazon, Nibowin is now available for preorder in the Canada and United States stores. It will be open to more countries post-launch. I’ve signed the book up for KDP Select, which will be my first published book to do so. Assuming the book is approved, it will be the first of my work to be available on Kindle Unlimited, meaning you’ll be able to read the book immediately if you’re subscribed. I prefer to have my book on multiple platforms, but I want to try out KDP Select and see if I get any more success than my other books. If I see some success, I will add more novellas and other non-Armored-Piercing books to that service.


Please stay tuned for more details. Nibowin: The Island of Death will release on August 12, 2022. Preorder here:


Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0B81192T4

US: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B81192T4

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All My Twitter VSS365 Posts

So when I first started using Twitter, I came across the VSS365 hashtag. VSS365 means 'Very Short Stories 365 days.' Someone would post a prompt word and you had to write a short story featuring the w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page